COMP Cams® USMTS Engine Builder Competition Goes to the Wire

The COMP Cams® USMTS Engine Builder of the Year competition was too close to call throughout the course of the season, but when the dust settled on the final event, it was Mullins Race Engines who claimed the coveted title

The United States Modified Touring Series (USMTS) pits the nation’s top Open Wheel Modified competitors against one another at tracks throughout the country each year. And for the third year in a row, COMP Cams® sponsored the popular Engine Builder of the Year competition in the series.

The USMTS is, by far, the fiercest touring Open Wheel Modified sanction, and it seemed only appropriate to recognize the engine builder who built the strongest, most dependable power plants for the tour’s top performing drivers. For much of the season, the top spot swapped on an almost nightly basis between Mullins Race Engines based in Mt. Olive, Illinois, and Sput’s Racing Engines from Owatonna, Minnesota. The showdown for the top builder title culminated with the 12th Annual Fall Jamboree at Deer Creek Speedway in Spring Valley, Minnesota, on September 24rd-26th, 2010.

Both builders were well represented in the event, which saw over one hundred of the nation’s top drivers in action. However, it was Mullins Race Engines who claimed the COMP Cams® Engine Builder of the Year award as customer Jason Hughes powered his #12 Hughes/Mullins Race Engine Open Wheel Modified to his second straight Fall Jamboree title. With the win, he locked up the 2010 USMTS National Championship, which was his first season-long USMTS title. Along the title chase, Hughes scored five wins, fifteen top five finishes and sixteen top ten finishes in seventeen events. Second in points was fellow Mullins Race Engines customer, Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa.

Sput’s Racing Engines may have fallen one point short of the title, but they made their presence known as seven of the top ten drivers in the final USMTS standings utilized their power plants, including Tommy Myer, Zack VanderBeek, Kelly Shryock, Rodney Sanders, Jon Tesch, Jason Krohn and Tim Donlinger.

Rounding out the top five in the final COMP Cams® USMTS Engine Builder Competition was ASI Racing Engines (Lubbock, Texas), Pro Power Racing Engines (Sullivan, Wisconsin) and JR Motorsports (Ankeny, IA).

For information about COMP Cams® sponsored events or valve train products, call us at 1-800-999-0853, or visit us online at www.compcams.com.

Microsoft Word Icon Download press release in MS Word

Adobe PDF Icon Download press release in Adobe PDF Format

Browse By Company






» View all companies