COMP Cams® Powers Top Dirt Late Model Drivers To Championships

With the 2010 season now complete, the results don’t lie as a majority of the top Dirt Late Model tours are crowning COMP Cams® customers as their champions

With the end of the year rapidly approaching, Dirt Late Model tours across the country are honoring their champions and their 2010 achievements. As tours debate over who has the most talented champion, one thing is undeniable, and that is the fact that a majority of the top drivers were powered to championship form by engine builders utilizing COMP Cams® valve train products.

It was another phenomenal year for Kentucky-based Cornett Racing Engines and its customers as the engine builder led the way with the most Dirt Late Model touring championships in the 2010 season. In one of the tightest World of Outlaw Late Model Series points battles in several years, 22-year-old Josh Richards from Shinnston, West Virginia, claimed his second straight tour title as well as eight series wins on the tour. David Breazeale from Four Corners, Mississippi, turned in one of the most impressive seasons of any regional driver as he claimed three separate tour championships behind the wheel of his #54 Cornett Ford-powered Mastersbilt. After an explosive season, Breazeale won the Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series, PRO Dirt Car Series and NeSmith Super Dirt Car Series titles. Dennis Franklin from Gaffney, South Carolina, battled for the points lead in the Carolina Clash tour before clinching the championship in the final event in his #2 Cornett Racing Engine Super Late Model.

Pro Power Racing, based in Sullivan, Wisconsin, also claimed its fair share of regional and national Dirt Late Model titles during the course of the 2010 season. Pro Power Racing customer Chad Simpson from Mount Vernon, Iowa, dominated the Corn Belt Clash tour as he won over half of the series events to claim the main title. While Simpson was ensuring his victory, Mike Weeks of Friendsville, Tennessee, drove his #22 Pro Power entry to the Volunteer Racing Series championship, winning the title by over 300 points. In the Southeast, 22-year-old Tyler Ivey of Tallahassee, Florida, wreaked his own havoc with a Pro Power engine as he took the National Late Model Series title. Finally, for motorcycle racer turned Dirt Late Model star, Brian Shirley from Chatham, Illinois, who started his own team in 2010, the learning curve was minimal as he clinched the Monster Midwest Series championship.

Jay Dickens Racing Engines saw two championships added to their tally in 2010. Henderson, Colorado’s Kelly Boen was responsible for the first title as he piloted his #02 rocket with Jay Dickens power to the NCRA Late Model championship while Eddie Kirchoff from Gillette, Wyoming, won the Colorado Late Model Series championship with his own Jay Dickens engine.

Louisiana-based Wall-2-Wall Race Engines saw their customers frequently in victory lane during the 2010 season. Despite missing a pair of the early season events, Anthony Burroughs from Muscle Shoals, Alabama, claimed his first Southern Regional Racing Series championship. While Burroughs ran over the competition on the Tennessee-based tour, Rob Litton of Alexandria, Louisiana, made a name for himself on the Southern United Professional Racing tour as he claimed his first tour title.

Rhyne Competition Engines based out of Gary, Indiana, claimed UMP bragging rights as Jason Feger from Bloomington, Illinois, utilized their engines to claim his first ever UMP Summer Nationals title as he dethroned reigning champion, Dennis Erb, Jr. But Feger didn’t stop there; he also claimed the Northern All Stars title in his #25 Bob Pierce Super Late Model.

While some engine builders racked up multiple accolades, several different engine builders who are loyal COMP Cams® customers claimed single championships. Roush Yates Racing Engines, based in North Carolina, jumped onto the Dirt Late Model scene in 2010, and powered Scott Bloomquist to his second straight Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series championship.

Arkadelphia, Arkansas-based engine builder Kuntz & Company Engines is no stranger to championships, nor is Greenbrier, Arkansas, driver Bill Frye. However, in 2010 the duo worked to claim their first COMP Cams® MSRA Super Late Model together. The championship marked the third COMP Cams® MSRA title for Kuntz & Company Engines, as it had previously claimed two with Joey Mack.

Along the lines of repeat champions, Rob Blair of Titusville, Pennsylvania, used a Draime Racing Engine to take his second straight O’Reilly All Star Racing Series title while Randy Weaver from Crossville, Tennessee, also went two for two by winning his second straight Southern All Star Series championship. Race Engine Design (R.E.D.) power was under the hood of Weaver’s car when he claimed the coveted title.

The Sunoco American Late Model Series saw Brian Ruhlman from Clarklake, Michigan, pick up the 2010 tour championship with a Malcuit Racing Engine. And on the east coast, Jason Covert from York Haven, Pennsylvania, utilized a Hershey’s Racing Engine to win five events on the tour to claim the Three State Flyers title.

With championships in 2010 spanning from coast to coast and border to border, it is clear that for yet another year COMP Cams® sits at the top of the valve train market. Whether it is a national tour, regional tour or weekly show, COMP Cams® produces products and offers full support for all levels of racing. The never ending pursuit for cutting edge technology keeps COMP Cams® on the forefront of the motorsports world and also keeps its customers at the front of the pack.

For more information about COMP Cams® valve train products or any other COMP Cams® product, call us at 1-800-999-0853, or visit us online at www.compcams.com.

Microsoft Word Icon Download press release in MS Word

Adobe PDF Icon Download press release in Adobe PDF Format

Browse By Company






» View all companies